Search Me!

Loading...

Friday, April 10, 2015

Review: What a Lady Requires by Ashlyn Macnamara

What a Lady Requires (The Eton Boys Trilogy, #3)Publisher: Loveswept
ISBN: 0553393774
Pages: 231 pages
Genre:Romance/Historical
Buy this Book: Amazon | Barnes |
iTunes | Kobo

Summary:

Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries, Ashlyn Macnamara’s blazing hot novel tells the story of mismatched newlyweds who discover a simmering connection.

Unlike every other proper young lady, Miss Emma Jennings views marrying well as little more than a means to an end. Such a merger would provide her industrious father with social credibility, and Emma with a chunk of her vast inheritance. Emma’s practical views are shattered, however, when her father ties her to the fabulously handsome ne’er-do-well Rowan Battencliffe, a man she loathes on sight—from the smile that promises all manner of wickedness to the way he ogles her with those striking blue eyes.

Deep in debt, especially to his wine merchant, Rowan figures the sooner he gets his finances in order, the sooner he can go back to doing what he does best: burning through ridiculous sums of cash. Which is why Rowan agrees to marry the merchant’s daughter, a prim and proper woman with delightful curves and an ample dowry. But Emma seems to think it’s her business to reform him! Their marriage is a tinderbox—and it’s just too tempting to resist playing with fire.


My Review:

Intro: I’ve reviewed What a Lady Demands and absolutely loved it. It was a reading highlight and I was really looking forward to this one as well. And it lived up to all of my expectations. I’m getting really concerned because I have been reading amazing books lately and I am waiting for the really terrible one to break the streak.

Characters:

Heroine: Emma-She was awesome. She was one of the more unique heroines I have come across lately. She is smart as a whip. I love that she is brainy and a math whiz. It was also so easy to identify with her. I always identify with the bookish heroines.

Hero: Rowan-I just felt bad for Rowan. His situation was terrible and I just wanted to buy him an ice cream cone and tell him that everything was going to be okay. I did love that he had to depend on Emma’s skills to fix his problems.  

Chemistry-I love how the roles were sort of flipped around in this one. I have read many books where the heroine is in need of a hero with math skills to help them out of a predicament but I haven’t read many that I can remember where the hero needs the heroine’s help. It’s refreshing. I also loved the easy chemistry they had with each other.  

Chemistry Rating:


Conclusion: I really liked this one quite a bit. I loved the reversal of roles and I loved the characters. Ashlyn Macnamara is definitely an author that I will be following. I need to go back and read the first book in the series. It’s a necessity. 
Overall Rating


Author Info
Ashlyn lives in the wilds of suburbia outside Montreal with her husband and two teenaged daughters. When not writing, she looks for other excuses to neglect the housework, among them knitting, reading and wasting time on the internet in the guise of doing research.

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

a Rafflecopter giveaway


1 comment:

 

Blog Template by In Between Design Studio